National Chocolates Day

November 29th is National Chocolates Day! More importantly, (more important than chocolate?!), today marks my 100th post and, I’m sad to say, the end of this blog. A year ago I began this food adventure, culinarily challenged and ready to learn my way around the kitchen. One hundred recipes later I’m proud to say the microwave is no longer the most important appliance in my life (long live the hair straightener!) and I no longer shudder at the thought of a potluck. Looking back on the past year, it’s crazy to think about the amount of time I spent in the kitchen, discovering new favorite foods and completely butchering unsuspecting recipes. It’s a good thing this blog is ending just as I head off on my next overseas adventure, as I’m not sure what I’d do with all that extra time.. or those extra calories. I want to thank you all for being so supportive.. for the helping hands in the kitchen, the encouraging comments when I got it right, the persevering swallows (fake smiles attached) when I didn’t. Thank you Christine for following along from afar, and consistently commenting on every single holiday. Brian and I ended my yearlong adventure today by making chocolate truffles, dipping half of them in cocoa powder and the other half in red sprinkles. They’re delicious (is chocolate ever anything but?!) and a great way to end this yearlong adventure. One nation, filled with food holidays, celebrating, with flour and sugar for all. AMERICA!