National Macaroni Day

July 7th is National Macaroni Day! Confession: I’ve been wanting to make vegan macaroni & cheese forever, so when I realized that this food holiday landed on a day I’d be out of town and have no time to make it, I ‘cheated’ and planned to make the recipe ahead of time. So, yesterday when my niece came over in the morning to help me with a project I’m working on, we took a break at lunch and made some good ole vegan mac’n’cheese! Vegan what?! Let’s hear it for the cheesy quality of nutritional yeast! The end result? Downright deliciousness that hits the spot. Not gonna lie, I just had a bowl for breakfast!

7 responses

  1. I love mac ‘n cheese 🙂 Not trying to be rude or anything….but why does it look kind of chunky? Does vegan cheese have melting issues? Educate me please!

    • Haha it’s not rude to ask! I’ll educate as best as I can from what I’ve figured out so far. Basically, a lot of ‘food alternatives’ don’t come out the same consistancy as the original food. You’re dealing with different food bases etc. so while the taste may be right on (and actually in this case the sauce was super creamy and not chunky tasting at all!) it can often look a bit funny. In this recipe I used nutritional yeast as the base, which was easily blended into a liquid to make the sauce, rather than a fake cheese. Though, in general a lot of fake cheeses don’t melt well. Daiya is the one most people recommend using if you are going to use a fake cheese because it melts the best out of what’s on the market right now. I’ve used it before and it’s alright, but for this recipe I wanted to try and make the cheese sauce from scratch rather that use a pre-made vegan cheese.

  2. At first smell, I wasn’t sure what it was going to taste like. And as a woman who loves cheese, I wasn’t sure if I would like this ‘fake cheese’ flavor. But to my surprise, it tasted pretty good. It’s great how my sister is becoming a better cook than I am. Sis, you are more than welcome to cook for me anytime! Hugs!

thoughts?

