National Chocolate Pudding Day

June 26th is National Chocolate Pudding Day! No nostalgia here, pudding was never my go-to snack as a kid, but I was interested in this recipe from the Joy of Vegan Baking cookbook because it used kudzu root starch as a thickener, and I had never heard of such a thing. Check it out on Wikipedia, kudzu has all sorts of uses! And, lo and behold, one of them is the ability to thicken liquids to a pudding consistency :). The end result? Delicious dairy-free chocolate pudding.

4 responses

  1. Ok so you’ve done vanilla and chocolate pudding. I say the next pudding day has to result in some kind of pudding pie 😀 Could be very interesting 😉

      • Pudding pies are the best 🙂 Banana cream pie is a pudding pie. That’s my fav. I think you’re right about tapioca pie sounding disgusting though. Just file the pie idea away for the next time you do vanilla pudding. Call me and I’ll tell you what to do 😉

        • Oooo I do love banana cream pie! I guess they (lol, the illusive ‘they’) tricked me into thinking it was fancier than a pudding pie by calling it a ‘cream’ pie but you’re right, it’s downright amazing. Banana cream pie- it’s going on the list 🙂

thoughts?

