National Chip & Dip Day

March 23rd is National Chip & Dip Day! A few weeks ago my friend Liz made Alicia Silverstone’s Cheesy Oozy Guacamole Bean Dip (from Alicia’s book The Kind Diet) for a party she was hosting. It was so good that when National Chip & Dip Day arrived I knew exactly what I wanted to make! Layered and baked refried black beans, avocados, non-dairy sour cream mixed with taco seasoning, green chiles, black olives, tomatoes, and vegan cheddar cheese! It’s delicious, quick and easy to make, and was a huge hit with my non-veg housemates! (A confession and a side note. Confession: I was so excited to eat this, I didn’t bother with trying to get too great of a photo, sorry! Side Note: I tried ‘Follow Your Heart’ vegan cheese this time instead of Daiya, and while I think I like the taste of Follow Your Heart better, it doesn’t melt and stretch and look like cheese quite like Daiya does.)

4 responses

  1. I love layered dip! So easy to make and so easy to substitute out what you don’t like and force your food preferences on your friends 🙂 Same goes with pasta salads 😉 this whole non melting cheese thing has me a bit concerned though.

thoughts?

