National Marzipan Day

Today (January 12th) is National Marzipan Day! I’ve slowly but surely been building a cupboard full of cooking accessories and with this food holiday came the purchase of my first candy thermometer! The recipe called for 4 cups of ground almonds, and while they looked pretty ground to me after a few minutes in my food processor, the end result was a bit grainy and I think finer ground almonds would have produced a better marzipan. Or maybe I should have blanched the almonds and removed the skins first? Regardless, it tastes great! I originally had grand ambitions for creating some beautiful art with my marzipan, but hadn’t counted on it being so sticky and thus resorted to making an American flag. Cheesy? Yes, but it is a national holiday after all!

2 responses

thoughts?

