National Fruitcake Day

Fruitcake has a pretty bad rep, and I’ll be honest, I’ve avoided it up until now. But considering today, December 27th, is National Fruitcake Day, I decided it was now or never for me and the highly dreaded holiday dessert. I did a quick Google search to see if there were any recipes out there that were remotely more interesting than what was in my Betty Crocker cookbook and settled on a recipe from the Food Network’s Alton Brown because it called for rum. And it got great reviews… but mainly because it called for a cup of rum. The bad news? This flippin fruitcake (which costs a fortune to make!) now has to sit for 2 weeks before I get to break into it, and every two to three days I have to “feel the cake and if dry, spritz with brandy”. I can barely keep a goldfish alive for two weeks… I highly doubt the fruitcake will survive.

8 responses

  1. You’ll have to keep us updated on this. I’m really curious. I also feel like this cake should be a 21 year or older sort of deal with all that spritzing 😉

    • Agreed! Holiday baked goods sure seem to call for a lot of alcohol (although all things considered, I completely understand why this is!) I baked the fruitcake at work last night and was explaining to some guests about the holidays and my blog and they offered me a huge piece of their homemade rum cake- which was delicious… but I’m pretty sure I shouldn’t have eaten it at work– that thing was POTENT!

  2. Someone is going to be real happy in two weeks- dilute that brandy HO HO HO HO HO
    I made fruit cake alla Rose years back- only fruits I liked in it! xoxo

thoughts?

